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STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

C9-81-1206 

In Re Petition of the Lawyers 
Professional Responsibility 
Board for Amendment of Rules 
Relating to Registration of 
Attorneys 

ORDER 

WHEREAS, the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board filed a petition with 
this court on January 13, 1992 proposing amendments to the Rules Relating to 
Registration of Attorneys that would increase the attorney registration fee, and 

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court held a hearing on these amendments on March 
20, 1992 and is fully advised in the premises, 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED: 

1. The attached amendments (Attachments A and B) to the Rules Relating to 
the Registration of Attorneys be, and the same hereby are, prescribed and 
promulgated governing the registration of attorneys in the State of Minnesota. 

2. The attached amendments (Attachment A) are effective with attorney 
registration payments due between July 1, 1992 and June 30, 1993. 

3. The attached amendments (Attachment B) are effective with attorney 
registration payments due on and after July 1, 1993. 

4. In all other respects the petition is denied. 

DATED: April 15, 1992 

BY THE COURT: 

A.M. Keith 
Chief Justice 



ATTACHMENT A 

AMENDMENTS TO RULES FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS 

Effective with attorney registration 
payments on and after July 1, 1992 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 
In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigations for 

admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid 
by applicants for such admission, with exception hereinafter enumerated, each 
attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary 
who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall 
hereafter annually pay to the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the 
sumof . ne Hundred Thirtv-two Dollars 
($132.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter determine. 

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of 
January, April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the 
appellate courts. 

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows: 
$15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 
$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing LegalEducation 
$8&W $SO.OQ to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board 
$20.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund. 
The following attorneys and judges shall pay annual registration fee of m 

Fotytwo 0 as@ Al . 
ey ir ,dgetiLsL pe:ii&ent residence is outside the State of 

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state; 
(b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three 

years; 
(c) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States. 
Ther . Fortv-two Dollars ($42.00) so received shall 

be allocated as follows: 
$15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 
$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 
0) $20.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board. 
Any attorney admitted to practice law on or after July 1,1988, shall pay to the 

Minnesota Client Security Fund $50 in the fiscal year of admission and an additional 
$50 in the fiscal year the attorney becomes subject to the first paragraph of this rule. 
This second $50 shall be instead of any annual assessment in favor of the Client 
Security Fund in that year. 

A-l 



Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently 
disabled, or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that 
he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be 
placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney 
claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active 
practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of 
the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee. 

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently 
disabled, who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually 
with the clerk of the appellate courts that he or she is so retired or disabled and not 
engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall 
remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status 
who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active practice of law shall 
promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts 
and pay the annual registration fee. 
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ATTACHMENT B 

AMENDMENTS TO RULES FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS 

Effective with attorney registration 
payments on and after July 1, 1993 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 
In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigations for 

admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid 
by applicants for such admission, with exception hereinafter enumerated, each 
attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary 
who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall 
hereafter annually pay to the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the . sumofr\--0 e u ded otv-two Dollars 
($142.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may ann!!alF k,‘eaft!r determine. 

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of 
January, April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the 
appellate courts. 

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows: 
$15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 
$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing LegalEducation 
$9&W %lOO.OQ to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board 
$20.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund. 
The following attorneys and judges shall pay annual registration fee of 

Forty-two Dollars ($42.00): 
(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of 

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state; 
(b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three 

years; 
(c) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States. 
The Forty-two Dollars ($42.00) so received shall be allocated as follows: 
$15.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 
$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 
$20.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board. 
Any attorney admitted to practice law on or after July 1, 1988, shall pay to the 

Minnesota Client Security Fund $50 in the fiscal year of admission and an additional 
$50 in the fiscal year the attorney becomes subject to the first paragraph of this rule. 
This second $50 shall be instead of any annual assessment in favor of the Client 
Security Fund in that year. 

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently 
disabled, or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that 
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he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be 
placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney 
claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active 
practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of 
the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee. 

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently 
disabled, who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually 
with the clerk of the appellate courts that he or she is so retired or disabled and not 
engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall 
remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status 
who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active practice of law shall 
promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts 
and pay the annual registration fee. 
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